PDA

View Full Version : Finish Help

Just Say N20
04-22-2009, 07:39 AM
I have no experience with Imron paint, and how to make it look great.

Parts of the rear deck have been touched up. I was told that when it was "touched up", the color matched. In the picture, the repainted areas are the darker yellow.

On the section shown, I tried lightly wet sanding, using a fine scratch remover by hand, using a product called Buff Magic (which I have had great success with on gelcoat) on a 7" wool pad at about 2500 rpms using a buffer.

I have done nothing to the engine hatch, and you can see it looks lighter (if it was gelcoat, I would say it looks oxidized) than the polished portion of the deck. Even after polishing, which slightly deepened the yellow, there is still a difference in color.

My gut says that if mild wet sanding didn't get me where I wanted to go, you can't get there from here.

Any suggestions?

Also, is there a way to get the grab rail brackets off with the deck on?

HOWARD O
04-22-2009, 09:13 AM

Skinny 10 yr. old with some mechanical ability might be your best bet. :cool:

BlownCrewCab
04-22-2009, 09:27 AM
Treat the Imron just like GelCoat, wet sand/Buff. Just don't get it too hot or It'll burn, It's best Not to use "Stick" compound, but Medium Liquid compound is Okay. It's Not as thick as Gel so you don't want to remove much, no need to sand any rougher than 1000grit.

Conquistador_del_mar
04-22-2009, 10:02 AM
I have no experience with Imron paint, and how to make it look great.

Parts of the rear deck have been touched up. I was told that when it was "touched up", the color matched. In the picture, the repainted areas are the darker yellow.

On the section shown, I tried lightly wet sanding, using a fine scratch remover by hand, using a product called Buff Magic (which I have had great success with on gelcoat) on a 7" wool pad at about 2500 rpms using a buffer.