PDA

View Full Version : fiberglass repairs

glashole
04-21-2009, 10:01 AM
I have found a small "crack" in the bottom of a 30 ft 1998 Cruisers while i was removing the bottom paint for a reapplication

the crack was dripping water

I started to sand the crack so as to sand deeper than the crack and was planning on refiberglassing it
- note you can junp in at any time to say i am doing something wrong because I have never done this type of thing before
anyways
I started to sand the area and did the whole crack, however the material underneath seems to be wet as well

this has been repaired by someone before

as i sanded i was able to remove some of the fiberglass layers (approx. 1/8" thick)
I now have an area (will get pictures) that is about 8" x 8" square where I can see a the next layer of material,

the edges of my "hole" i can slide a small prybar underneath the surrounding layers

my question is - is this delamination? how far should I keep sanding and breaking off loose pieces?
the material beneath is wet, should i do something to dry it out?

any help would be appreciated

Shea

Morgan's Cloud
04-21-2009, 10:19 AM
The first thing that comes to mind is , What's the access like on the inside of the boat ?

You're going to have to open it up to the degree that all of the faulty/wet/cracked stuff is completely gone and that could mean a hole right through the bottom !

Remember , glass repairs involve a very gently beveled surface on both sides leading into the repair ... You could end up with a much larger area than what it looks like now that the repair will actually involve.

And there must be no wetness anywhere .

Break out the grinder .

Steve

glashole
04-21-2009, 10:46 AM
working from the outside in

it is on the very bottom of the boat beneath approx where the motors would start

Morgan's Cloud
04-21-2009, 11:41 AM
Can you get to it from the inside as well ... ?