PDA

View Full Version : Overheating blues

COOL CROSSBOW
09-28-2008, 12:26 AM
Hi gang i am new to the boating thing but not to engines in general so i am just learning about how the water cools these engines the hard way, school of hard knocks. I am helping a friend with his 87 z33 crossbow, he bought this DONZI on ebay in Arizona some one here may know this boat it is white with wild graphics . Boat looks grate but little did we know how badly riged up this boat is/was. Sence he got it its been in the water four time no longer than 10 to 15 minits due to one of the 2002 502s keeps running hot. Heres how it began. First time in the water engine runs hot so hot it melts some make shift plastic water line in the exhost manifolds and cracks one head. To the shop for repair.$$$$ Wile there we find out how riged this boat realy is , there is romex house wiring running through the engine bay. We all so found ricpts for new water pump,hoses and thermostat, wich tells us this has been going on before us. After geting it running back to the water it runs hot again. Now we learn about seapumps $$$ oh and the ignition box gose out $$$ new box and dist. Back to the water to day, 10 minites runs hot now we learn about seastraners well it was plug so bad we removed it but it still runs hot.:confused:

COOL CROSSBOW
09-28-2008, 12:39 AM
What i dont under stand is with a water hose hooked up it dont run hot but when in the lake it dose. Can someone give me some suggestions, as i am looking at a crossbow my self i realy like these boats and want to learn as much as i can.:boggled:

zelatore
09-28-2008, 12:43 AM
Given the way you describe the boat, it sounds like you need to start at the beginning and work your way through the cooling system. Any number of things could be causing the problem, from simple to expensive. Since the previous owner was clearly a brilliant fellow, you could have anything from a hose installed wrong to a blown head gasket.

Is it fresh or raw water cooled?