PDA

View Full Version : Cost for gear replacement????

The Judge
08-25-2008, 03:03 PM
Feedback would be appreciated...I'm not technical but from a lay person's perspective here's the deal....cruising yesterday and noticed a sudden loss of power and clanking...then knocking when at idle...boat went in today and apparently it requires new upper gears and some "clean up" of the lower ones in drive? Boat is a 2002 18 Classic w/350 Mag MPI and has about 185-200 hours on it...is this to be expected? Estimate is $4250 CDN..

DonziJon
08-25-2008, 03:18 PM
This is NOT to be expected. The only thing that might cause this is if you are doing "Hole Shots". ...ie slamming the throttle wide open from a dead stop. OR....the oil drain plug fell out of the bottom of the drive and you lost all your drive oil.

A Brand New Alpha I (Gen I) can be had for around $2500. USD. Yours is a Gen II, which is essentially the same. ....OR you have a Bravo. Can't quote a price for a Bravo. $4,000 plus for a "cleanup" seems to be just a little over the top to me. :shocking: John

EDIT: Check this site out to get a "feel" for prices on drives.
http://www.dougrussell.com/Products/index.cfm?fuseaction=Products&Category=2

MOP
08-25-2008, 03:18 PM
Feedback would be appreciated...I'm not technical but from a lay person's perspective here's the deal....cruising yesterday and noticed a sudden loss of power and clanking...then knocking when at idle...boat went in today and apparently it requires new upper gears and some "clean up" of the lower ones in drive? Boat is a 2002 18 Classic w/350 Mag MPI and has about 185-200 hours on it...is this to be expected? Estimate is $4250 CDN..

You can get a brand new drive from dealers on Ebay for about the same and end up with new and a guarantee! $4250 is a tall figure!!!

glashole
08-25-2008, 03:19 PM
where are you getting the work done?

BUIZILLA
08-25-2008, 03:46 PM