PDA

View Full Version : Questions on performance

ajochum
08-22-2008, 10:16 PM
Took out my new purchase today - my '82 18' 2+3 w/350/260hp and wondered how it performs vs. others out there. Today there were three of us and we were in very choppy water. Was only able to hit about 45 mph. Other night in calm water with just two of us, we did 52 mph with more to come - I just didn't dare first time out.

My question is - is this about par for an 18 ft.? I have a stainless 21 degree prop. Is there a better one that some of you might recommend?

Guess I'm greedy, but I'd like to see it hit 65 or so. Am guessing the weight of the people play a huge part, along with calm lake etc. but am looking to see what you might suggest.

Sure love this boat!!

MOP
08-23-2008, 09:41 AM
little time to get use to the boat IE: Seat Time! You need to use some trim on the drive which take a bit of getting use to, when you hit 52 what was your RPM? And what is the make and model of the prop?

Phil

ajochum
08-23-2008, 10:08 AM
Phil - My prop is stainless 3 blade and markings are SB9861 and also 48 89802 A4 21P. Nice shape. Boat is an 82 and only has 380 hours on it. Motor is really strong and is firing on all 8.

Wish I could tell you the RPMs - never think to look at that and will next time. I get the boat as flat as possible by moving the trim tabs all the way down and also get the prop all the way down. Have been told by the previous owner that I may want to try to actually move the prop up a bit once I get going.

Think I can do better? Is another prop a consideration?

You're right - those trim tabs are fun to get used to. Getting it level sometimes makes me feel like I'm going to lose control if I'm not headed just right into the wake.

RedDog
08-23-2008, 10:14 AM
You are going about it backwards. For best speed you want to get the bow up - air it out.