PDA

View Full Version : donzi project help

pete_call
12-16-2002, 08:56 PM
I am new to restoring boats, and I want to get a donzi project. I am not worried about the mechanicals, but I was wondering if anybody could give me some hints about what to avoid on the hull. How bad can a boat be and still be restored? Does the fiberglass become old and brittle after too long? Are certain years undesirable because of poor manufacturing?

Scott Pearson
12-17-2002, 06:00 AM
Pete
Any donzi is worth saving. The older boats are where the work starts. Since it will be your first project, I would look for something newer.

On all boats you will need to look for rotted wood and balsa. All Donzis have some sort of wood or balsa in the deck coring and wood stringers and transom. These areas need to be loked at closely.

How bad can a boat be and still be restored? They all can be saved...its just how much time and money you want to spend. And if your not afraid to take a project on like that.

Does the fiberglass become old and brittle after too long? Some people say yes...I dont think so at all. I have seen older boats look a hell of alot beter then brand new boats as far as gelcaot cracks and stress cracks.

Are certain years undesirable because of poor manufacturing? I really dont believe so. I think there all desirable. It just has to be what model and year that you like.

Good luck!

Ohhh, There is a great looking 1970 18 Donzi in the boats forsale section. Great price also!

(NJ)Scott

MOP
12-17-2002, 07:35 AM
Scott hit it on the head, and once you find your prodject you can ask specifics and also use the search feature which has most projects hashed out in great detail. Some of the things you need to decide is what size, how fast and how deep your pockets are. Best of luck once done it will be a very special feeling.

olredalert
12-17-2002, 10:16 AM