PDA

View Full Version : My new 1988 18 classic

fwi
07-31-2008, 12:09 PM
Newbie here. Just wanted to introduce myself and say hello to everyone. I live in So. Florida but am up in Michigan for the summer and this is where I bought the boat.
Just purchased this 18 classic 2+3. It has 350/270HP, Alpha One and it sits on the original Donzi factory trailer. Engine is recent with less than 50 hrs on it. Hull is flawless, interior is ok, all gauges and instruments work.
Took it out on Muskegon lake for the first time today and noticed the steering wanders all over the place, in that I had to keep turning the wheel left and right about half a turn just to keep it going straight!!!
It was dead calm and I was the only one on the water. Don't know what kind of steering it has but I took some pics of it.
Also, it didn't seem to want to get up on plane too easily, at 2000 rpm it just made a lot of noise. It has a 21 pitch 3 blade cleaver.
Any thoughts and suggestions will be appreciated.

ITTLFLI
07-31-2008, 12:54 PM
Welcome!

Nice looking 18!

I could be wrong but that looks like a shock for a car/truck that is mounted to your transom.:eek:

chappy
07-31-2008, 01:02 PM
Welcome to the board. Does that external steering unit have any writing on it? Just curious as to what brand or make it is? Good luck with the boat, gotta love the classic red.:pimp:

olredalert
07-31-2008, 01:42 PM
-----I dont see any hydraulic lines so I am assuming that that apparatus is some sort of stabilizer. I could be wrong but I would bet that the unit we see was installed to try to cover up some wear elsewhere in your steering set-up. As well, I would have it checked quick as premature breakage in your steering could be disastrous.
-----Cleavers are way old tech but your boat should do OK with it. What kind of noise are we talking about???