PDA

View Full Version : Free stuff to replace pay stuff!

MOP
06-14-2008, 08:44 AM
This keep even the Geeks busy for awhile!

http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/topic3616.html

Formula Jr
06-14-2008, 11:30 AM
There is a new trend in Soft Development that is very exciting.
Full Fledged business class programs are now being developed under the
Linux GUL. And as such, it has to be free. Everyone in IT just got so sick of
of all the overhead it took to enforce MS's and other Corp's little licensing rules that they are
testing and switching over to these free and stable programs that have been ported
to run under Windows. Will not be long before the entire OS is replaced.

VetteLT193
06-18-2008, 06:54 AM
I'm a web developer so we see a lot of this on the front end. It is hard to change the old school thinking but I'm starting to succeed at work too (state of FL). I just saved the state $20,000 on a single software package because I found a free (open source) alternative and presented a new business plan.

At the house I use openoffice: http://www.openoffice.org/ it is perfect for home use, replaces MS office but it is free.

I also use Gimp instead of Photoshop and Avast! antivirus.

onesubdrvr
07-06-2008, 07:07 AM
I started "programming" over 20 years ago (in Highschool), and in those days, you either wrote what you wanted yourself, or paid your 1st born and a limb for something off the shelf that wouldn't do everything you wanted it to.

I am really liking this trend with open source sofware - even though I'm in school now to be a software engineer, and hoping to move into the programming field, I think the open source software is a good thing. If one becomes proficient enough, they can tailor this software to their needs. Thus, the bulk of the program is written, but you have to have some experience to go in and rework parts of the code to fit specific applications.