PDA

View Full Version : Holiday Weekend 22C Question

MDonziM
05-23-2008, 11:24 AM
What do think is the best (performance) drive setup for the following?

Now a 1994 22C orig. 502 efi/ bravo package. Added full Hyd. Steering. Building a n/a 540 estimated at 600+hp. I know the bravo will be near its limit but I was considering Putting on an Imco 2" Srorty.

Blackhawk seems ideal but I have no experience with them. Is it a waste to spend $ on a bravo (1" shaft) which should really be an XR?(1 1/4") How about 1.35 vs 1.5 drive ratio? Otherwise it would seem you need to run a lot of prop. (1.35 only with an XR I guess)

I never saw follow up on that 22 out west with the Illmore. The LH vs. RH rotation change (and handling claim)was really interesting. Anyone else take 4" of the X dimension?

Thanks in advance for your info/opinions.

MM

ITTLFLI
05-23-2008, 11:56 AM
I have a 1994 22 with the same set up. Call me if you wish to discuss. I will PM you my number.

Byron

zimm17
05-23-2008, 12:01 PM
I'm running probably 600HP through a bravo 1, 2" imco shorty, full hydraulic steering, with no outdrive problems so far. 1.5:1 stock ratio with a 29p four blade prop. You'll need a different prop for the shorty- something like a fusion 4, hydromotive QIV, or TXP. The turbo 1, or mirage will be worthless.

Conquistador_del_mar
05-23-2008, 12:20 PM
I'm running probably 600HP through a bravo 1, 2" imco shorty, full hydraulic steering, with no outdrive problems so far. 1.5:1 stock ratio with a 29p four blade prop. You'll need a different prop for the shorty- something like a fusion 4, hydromotive QIV, or TXP. The turbo 1, or mirage will be worthless.

I am also running a 29" pitch on my 600HP Eliminator Daytona with a 1.5 Bravo. What kind of speeds are you reaching? Have you tried some various props? If so, what is your best performing one? I have had a Hydromotive QIV for about 12 years now, but I am guessing there might be something better by now. Bill

zimm17