PDA

View Full Version : Prop Selection 27zx 454 Mag

CJmike
05-20-2008, 09:43 AM
Alright as some of you know I bought Hedgehogs 27zx awhile back. Being from the frozen state of MN boating season is finally upon us. Hedgehog can correct me if I am wrong but I think the boat currently has a 23 mirage on it. I seem to be suffering a loss of perfoprmance with this prop. Top end is down since this prop went on and I am suffering from blow outs when cornering. I am pretty new to boating so all this stuff is new to me. Tried to search but came up with liots of conflicting info.

27zx
454mag stock
bravo1
(I think that is correct)

What should I be running for a prop?

mrfixxall
05-20-2008, 10:07 AM
[QUOTE=CJmike;450678]Alright as some of you know I bought Hedgehogs 27zx awhile back. Being from the frozen state of MN boating season is finally upon us. Hedgehog can correct me if I am wrong but I think the boat currently has a 23 mirage on it. I seem to be suffering a loss of perfoprmance with this prop. Top end is down since this prop went on and I am suffering from blow outs when cornering. I am pretty new to boating so all this stuff is new to me. Tried to search but came up with liots of conflicting info.

27zx
454mag stock
bravo1
(I think that is correct)

What should I be running for a prop?[/QUOTE

What year is the boat? stepped hull? what rpms are you turning?
try stepping down to a bravo 1 4 blade 22 pitc if your rpms are around 4600-4800

i put a set of mirages on a formula last weekend and the boat hated them,for some reason the mirage dont like stepped hulls..

CJmike
05-20-2008, 10:20 AM
1997 non stepped hull. Not sure on RPM's but seem pretty low.

fasttrucker
05-20-2008, 11:29 AM
Go with a 4-blade bravo-1 or hydromotive.I just happen to have both, if your in md stop by and we can throw it on and test.

The Hedgehog
05-20-2008, 01:59 PM