PDA

View Full Version : Disappearing webpages

yeller
03-21-2008, 02:06 PM
Anyone have an idea why some webpages disappear (or partially disappear) on me? An example is Ebay. I'll do a search and the info will come up for about 1 sec and then the page goes blank. I'm using XP pro w/IE6 and running Avast antivirus. Avast has never given me problems in the past, so I don't think that's the problem.

I've done internet searches on the subject, but haven't found a solution yet.

justleft
03-21-2008, 03:26 PM
I would first run a good malware detector. I like Adware Away.

Then post the issue on the Avast forum. But you will have
to register.

good luck

yeller
03-21-2008, 08:27 PM
I've run Ad-Aware but it doesn't solve the problem.
I really don't think it's Avast, because I've been running it for a couple years with no problem.
The problems seem to have started since I had to re-install XP.

Forrest
03-23-2008, 08:32 PM
For sure check for malware. Avast v4.7 is a great AV program, but something could have slipped by. Try a couple of different anti-malware programs such as the one mentioned above as well as Spybot S&D or Adaware free version.

Also, you may want to see if the same thing happens when you use the Firefox or Opera browsers as well. You could have a bad install of IE6. Also, if you have a number of browser helper objects loaded, you may want to clear those out as well. Another thing you could try is a "clean boot" to see if something that is loading up at startup is messing your IE6 up.

See http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310353

Once you get it all figured out, I would recommend a very good firewall program such as Comodo Firewall Pro v3. It's totally free for the desktop and it's much better than most anything that you can buy.

http://www.comodo.com

yeller
03-24-2008, 07:08 PM
I guess I'll have to try a couple more anti-malware programs. I couldn't find a copy of IE6 to reinstall, so I installed IE7 and problem is still there.