PDA

View Full Version : drive maintenance

brwn234
12-31-2007, 12:28 AM
What kinda maintenance do I need to do to my Bravo I outdrive? When I winterized it I drained the old high performance fluid and filled from the bottom with new. There's a grease fitting on the starboard side so I squirted a few pumps of grease in there. But other than that what else is there? What about lubricating the drive shaft or universal joint? Checking alignment? anything else? I'm still kinda new to the I/O think, last boat was a jet drive, virtually no maintenance. The engine I'm good with and I'm pretty mechanicaly inclined I just dont know a whole lot about the drive yet.

bdog_402
12-31-2007, 09:28 PM
What kinda maintenance do I need to do to my Bravo I outdrive? When I winterized it I drained the old high performance fluid and filled from the bottom with new. There's a grease fitting on the starboard side so I squirted a few pumps of grease in there. But other than that what else is there? What about lubricating the drive shaft or universal joint? Checking alignment? anything else? I'm still kinda new to the I/O think, last boat was a jet drive, virtually no maintenance. The engine I'm good with and I'm pretty mechanicaly inclined I just dont know a whole lot about the drive yet. Pull the prop and grease the prop shaft grease ever nipple you can find.

brwn234
01-03-2008, 09:06 PM
How many greas fittings are there? It's tight in between the motor and the transom. It's hard to find them if you dont know where to look or when your done. What about the bellows, can I replace this myself if I need to? Or are there special tools a Mercruiser dealer would have?

LKSD
01-04-2008, 08:54 AM