PDA

View Full Version : A question about paypal

Formula Jr
12-12-2007, 08:04 AM
How do I know for certain that I'm in the "real" paypal site?

Bear with me if this seems like a stupid question. I'm new to it and just sold something on ebay that allowed a paypal payment to my account. Now I'm not sure what I'm doing. It seems weird that I only enter my e-mail address and then a password. Shouldn't it ask for a certificate or something?

For those that have accepted payments through A Paypal account, what should it look like. And do you get an email requesting that you accept payment.

rustnrot
12-12-2007, 08:09 AM
That's all it asks for...I think. But I would go to the paypal link within ebay. In other words sign into ebay then there should be a button for paypal there and it would ask again for your name and password. That way at least you have a double-layer of security...I guess.

Then log-in separately outside of ebay to your paypal account and verify that the correct transaction is on your log.

Formula Jr
12-12-2007, 08:37 AM
Thanks, that sounds like a better plan. I'll at least know I'm in side ebay first.

I do feel a little stupid now since I didn't know you had to "upgrade" in order to accept certain forms of payment. I don't recall reading that when I signed up.

smoothie
12-12-2007, 09:42 AM
A word of caution...be on the look out for "e-mails" that have the paypal or ebay logo and look like the real thing giving you a link to click on to "update" your account...if you do you could loose a lot of money in a hurry:eek!:

MOP
12-12-2007, 10:05 AM
Ditto on what smootie said, you should get a receipt in the mail shortly. I am new to Pay Pal also but have done a few transactions and have not needed to check my account due to the mail notification.

Phil

Formula Jr
12-12-2007, 11:18 AM