PDA

View Full Version : IE7 "vs" Firefox

MOP
11-29-2007, 10:58 AM
What are the pros and cons between the two? Since the recent upgrade of Firefox I have had a couple FF having to close and re open plus having trouble opening pages. If I open IE6 the pages open quickly and I have no glitches but I miss the tabbed browsing, I am thinking of down loading IE7 with the tabbed browsing.

Phil

penbroke
11-29-2007, 11:41 AM
I have heard there are some issues with the latest release of FF. I don't use it because I could never get it to work right. There was always something that was not quite right and I got sick of messing with it. I have been using IE7 on my laptop for a few months now with no issues. It does suck up a lot of horsepower though...

Frank

Trueser
11-29-2007, 11:42 AM
Mop,
You sure you dont have a computer business going? I would run both no harm in having them both on your machine.

Good luck

BUIZILLA
11-29-2007, 11:51 AM
I have one machine in my office that runs both in tandem, probably the best machine I own right now.... not a glitch so far

VetteLT193
11-29-2007, 11:59 AM
IE7 is basically a knock off of Firefox. M$ put all the features in, and it's not well tested.

IE7 can run side by side with FF, but can't run side by side with IE6. As a developer, IE7 poses a ton of problems especially with tabbed browsing. I assure you Firefox is a much more stable and better product, and it won't give nearly as many totally unexpected results using tabbed browsing like IE7 can.

hope that helps:wink:

MOP
11-29-2007, 01:03 PM
A bunch of thanks for the replies! I love FF and have for a log time, it has been super until the latest update. I will spend some time on their forum to see what pops up.

Phil

Formula Jr
11-30-2007, 03:10 PM
Auuuhummm.....

Sorry, just clearing my throat there a bit. :wink:

http://www.seamonkey-project.org/

It's got tab browsing tooooooooo.......
Five different machines, Four operating systems.