PDA

View Full Version : What digi cam to buy?

yeller
10-09-2007, 10:57 PM
This has been asked before, but the models keep changing, so here we go again.

I need to enter the 21st century and get a digital camera. After months of hummin' and hawwin' I was about to pull the trigger on a Canon A710IS, when they came out with the A720IS. While waiting for reviews on the 720 to appear, Canon released the SX100 and Sony unvieled the DSC-H3.
The Canon's can be viewed at:
www.usa.canon.com/consumer/controller?act=ProductCatIndexAct&fcategoryid=113
The Sony can be viewed at:
www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?catalogId=10551&storeId=10151&langId=-1&productId=819855292166519998

Anyone have any thoughts on these....or other ones I should look at. I'm a novice with cameras, but I'd like to get something that I can grow into.

fegettes
10-10-2007, 04:19 AM
Glen, you're right, what was top of the line last week has been replaced this week. I am in the same dilema looking for a digital camcorder and am literally lost as to what to get. I hate to think of the learning experience of buying some thing and then discover there is some thing better out there for my needs. I bought a Kodak a couple of years ago and have been pleased with it, however, there are so many better ones out there. When we were at the Hometown Rally there was some one, sorry I did not remember all of the names that weekend, with an Olympus on Sunday out on the water with us. We were conscious of getting it wet, and he imediately corrected us and said it was water proof to about 30 feet and to prove it, just dropped it in the water. It was small and thin, less than an inch, and almost the whole back side was a screen viewer. I was impressed with it.

Steve

rustnrot
10-10-2007, 09:23 AM
I just pulled the trigger on this one from Costco....720p video.

$199.99 After $40 Off Kodak V1233 12.1MP 2.5" 3x Optical 15x Total & Bonus ATP 2GB SD Card

yeller
10-10-2007, 10:05 AM