PDA

View Full Version : Need stereo upgrade guidance; amp/sub

Donzi LG
09-18-2007, 03:47 PM
Hey guys, I'm hoping those with some stereo component knowledge can guide me in adding some power to the sound system in my ZX. Basically, I want to add some "umph" to the sound without going crazy in the decibal or cash dept. I'm thinking of adding an amp and a subwoofer but I have no knowledge of stereo systems anymore. Again, I just want to beef up the sound a little, not looking for an exotic setup. This year I purchased a new Sony head unit and a pair of Sony 6.5s. The stereo model is Sony CDX-R30M and the speakers are Sony model XS-S160CX (Xplod). I'd like to add to this setup.

I've been looking at this amp, a Sony marine model: http://www.xplodsony.com/marine/amplifiers/XM-604M

Also looking into this sub enclosure (model TCE5510D): http://www.mtx.com/caraudio/products/enclosures/TCE5500.cfm

Would these units work well together? Now, can I power both the sub and the existing 6.5 inch speakers with that one amp? Would all speakers route to the amp itself? I really don't know the ins and outs of power amps. I'm thinking of putting the sub up in the cuddy and powering all speakers with this amp if possible. Do you guys think this setup would give me some decent sound? I'm not looking for sheer volume, more to beef up and give body to the existing output. Final setup would be stereo-amp-6.5 speakers-subwoofer. Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

John

tom freeman
09-18-2007, 06:56 PM
you may want to try a powered tube subwoofer, the amp is built in. MTX makes them and so does bazooka. they are pretty small and self contained, no cutting.

mrfixxall
09-18-2007, 07:45 PM
You really dont need marine speakers because most of them have a coated voice coil and a poly speaker serface..i worked for rockford fosgate in the mid 80,s installing their monster audio systems...