PDA

View Full Version : performance bus

glashole
08-31-2007, 12:23 PM
As some of you know I am a professional bus racer in my spare time :)
(kind of a charity thing for kids at the local speedway)

my bus has a 366 chevy efi motor

the problem is the governor makes it act like a golf cart in that it pulls really hard until it hits a specific speed and stops pulling until the speed decreases

I have changed the computer to one out of a van and it seems to not do anything different

would anyone know any other way to get rid of this governor?
is it in the computer?

what type or model of car should I look for the computer out of?

the race is next weekend

BUIZILLA
08-31-2007, 12:35 PM
does it have ABS brakes ???

that wire triggers the speed sensor governor regulation

clip it... :wink:

glashole
08-31-2007, 01:00 PM
that would make sense because as it is spudering the ABS light is flashing

what would i look for to find that?

BUIZILLA
08-31-2007, 01:07 PM
depending on the chassis builder,,, it's usually located on the rear end pumpkin, or one of the front wheel brake rotors... the Hall Effect pickup counts the teeth and computes the ABS operation and that is also tied into the speedo signal.

cutwater
08-31-2007, 01:16 PM
Buiz - does this mean that ABS systems have a dedicated wire just for an over-speed signal? Otherwise you couldn't just "clip it" right? Also, does the wire need to be grounded or just left floating?

RedDog
08-31-2007, 01:45 PM
I have a spare chip out of a HP laptop that you could put in your hyper-regulator?

BUIZILLA
08-31-2007, 01:54 PM
ABS brakes on a bus on a race track????

uh, pullleeeeeeezzzee :cool:

some had two wires, most just had one, and the one wire did double duty

cutwater
08-31-2007, 02:23 PM
ABS brakes on a bus on a race track????
uh, pullleeeeeeezzzee :cool:

Very true. I was thinking about more than just buses :shades:

glashole
08-31-2007, 02:36 PM
so

whatever wires are there cut them? :confused:

BUIZILLA