PDA

View Full Version : fuel problem

margo
08-23-2007, 02:52 PM
Just purchased a minx with a 350 merc.2 barrel carb...Supposedly the boat was sitting for a while It starts good but will only run at a fast throttle aroun 2000 rpm. if you bring it down it will stall...Put in new filter didn,t help Was told may be the antisiphon valve on the fuel tank...Hope not can you get at it...Going to try running it out of a jug of fuel and see what happens...The engine is a crate and supposedly has only 10 hrs. on it Who knows some people will tell you anything to make a sale...Any help would be appreciated...Thanks Joe..

zelatore
08-23-2007, 07:13 PM
I am not a carb expert by any means, but I doubt it's the anti-siphon valve or similar as I would expect that to limit fuel flow and cause the opposite of what you're seeing. i.e. it would idle but not run at higher rpm.

I would suspect the idle circuit in the carb is gummed up from old gas, especially if it's been sitting for a while as you mentioned.

Of course, that means the 2bbl carb is competely trashed and will have to be replaced with a 4bbl. You know, for reliability. :wink:

margo
08-24-2007, 06:12 AM
I am not a carb expert by any means, but I doubt it's the anti-siphon valve or similar as I would expect that to limit fuel flow and cause the opposite of what you're seeing. i.e. it would idle but not run at higher rpm.
I would suspect the idle circuit in the carb is gummed up from old gas, especially if it's been sitting for a while as you mentioned.
Of course, that means the 2bbl carb is competely trashed and will have to be replaced with a 4bbl. You know, for reliability. :wink:
That means i have to replace the intake also correct ..Thanks for the imfo i was thinking the same thing about running at speed and needng more fuel it wouldn,t get it....Joe

Sweet little 16
08-24-2007, 08:22 AM