PDA

View Full Version : Chris Craft x-19

v-drive
07-08-2007, 01:57 PM
I have a friend who is selling a 1970 Chris Craft x-19. What I thought was unusual about the boat is a Chris Craft engine tag under the hood that says the engine is a 302 chevrolet. I checked the casting numbers on the block, intake, and distributor and they all check out as what a 302 chevrolet would have used. I have never seen a 302 in anything but a Z-28 and thought it was odd for a boat. Do any of you guys remember anything about these boats, and do you think this engine could be original.

rustnrot
07-08-2007, 04:22 PM
I'm no expert but never heard of CC using a 302 block. Please tell me more info about boat, a friend of mine is interested! Is it the v-drive XK19 or I/O? I have an XK18 (totally different boat).

v-drive
07-08-2007, 09:14 PM
The boat is stored in a barn about 30 minutes from my house. Its a I/O not a v-drive. My first thought on the 302 engine was that somebody transplanted another engine, but that doesn't explain the metal plate in the engine compartment with the tune-up specs and 302 stamped on it as the cubic inches. The boat is 100% complete but would need a total resto to be nice. I didn't see any delamination but it would probably need paint, interior and the engine rebuilt.

BUIZILLA
07-08-2007, 09:23 PM
what is the block and intake casting numbers??

v-drive
07-08-2007, 09:54 PM