PDA

View Full Version : New 18' 2+3 owner

staarrl
07-04-2007, 09:20 AM
This is a great forum!
At 49 I have just purchased my first Donzi! It is titled as a 1967 but after reading your threads is a 1967 triple hatch possible? It has a 289 Holman Moody motor with a 250 or 270 Volvo outdrive which I will be replacing with an Alpha One for trim control and the fact that I know Mercruisers better. Can anyone tell me what kind of HP a 4 barrel 289 H/M motor makes? I will be using a Mercruiser made Volvo adapter plate to convert the drive. Any thoughts about the adapter plate?
Thanks, Bob

mrfixxall
07-04-2007, 10:54 AM
leave the volvo on for now,,you really dont need the trim unless you running in shallow water...ive been running mine like that for 21 yrs and i still have the same untouched drive on the boat..the only reason im updating my drive now is because im tired of fighting the steering wheel with 400++++ hp..
good luck..

chappy
07-04-2007, 11:29 AM
Welcome to the board. That looks like the '67 from Absecon, NJ. I'm not sure of the details you asked about, but I'm sure others can help here. Best of luck with her.

Rich

gcarter
07-04-2007, 11:43 AM
Welcome and good luck w/your project!

DonziChris
07-04-2007, 12:07 PM
I thought the previous owner said the boat had a fuel leak. Was it something other than the fuel tank. Nice boat good luck!

MOP
07-04-2007, 12:34 PM
Keep the Volvo it has lasted many years and still going Merc in no way can compete with that, if you need trim hunt up a Volvo package!

Phil

SurfGreenTele
07-04-2007, 03:04 PM
Congrats, good luck with her. :cool:

penbroke
07-04-2007, 07:14 PM
Keep the Volvo.

Oh yeah, and welcome to the madness!

Frank

Kirbyvv
07-04-2007, 09:51 PM