PDA

View Full Version : Not in Hell anymore, but need advice

Donziweasel
06-16-2007, 07:44 AM
I finally figured it out! After 8 months I finally got the "bog" out of the engine. Many of you know I have been fighting a "bog" in the mid range since I took my 1997 16 C's 350 out and installed a comp 264 cam, Vortec heads, edelbrock intake and edelbrock marine carb. After 8 months of messing with everything from ignintion to timing (and one small fire), I finally found the problem. The vacuum on the manifold was only 8 psi, pretty normal for a marine engine, but less than a auto counterpart. When the Edel vacuum secondaries kicked in, there was simply not enough vacuum and I had a lean spot. Soultion- Holley 4150 marine carb w/mechanical secondaries. Thank you to everyone who helped diagnose this problem. The boards definetly helped me in figuring it out.

I am now getting 56 mph (GPS) at 4600 rpm at 7000ft above sea level (which is pretty fast for my altitude, the boat ran 47 mph stock). The only problem is than it really feels like the boat and drive struggle to get out of the hole, even with the tabs I added last year. I am running the stock 1.47 gear with a 19 pitch prop. I really do not like to make an engine work that hard to get up on a plane, and I feel that it should turn 300-400 rpm higher on the top end. Wondering what everyone thought about kicking up to 1.62 gears for the elevation and a 21 or 23 pitch prop? Should take care of the hole shot and the 300-400 rpm on the top end, right?