PDA

View Full Version : What did I just do???!!!

cutwater
05-14-2007, 05:56 PM
I just picked up the Sweet 16 351/Eaton off of Ebay. I've been snooping around the board for a couple of years now, but I guess this makes me an official Donzi owner. I'm not really sure what made me do such a thing, but I got this bad feeling that if I didn't rescue this piece of Donzi history it would end up with a wakeboard tower or radar bridge! :bonk:

I may or may not be starting a restoration immediately (depending on work), but I will keep this boat safe and complete. If I don't have time in the near future to start a restoration, I would at least like to see this boat go to a board member looking for a project. My head is already full with questions, so any and all advice is welcomed!

Thanks, John

-------------

Pismo
05-14-2007, 06:30 PM
It's awesome.

penbroke
05-14-2007, 07:28 PM
:cool: :yes: Price is right too.

Frank

chappy
05-14-2007, 07:59 PM
Congratulations, can you make out the HIN?

Rich

p729lws
05-14-2007, 09:48 PM
I guess this makes me an official Donzi owner

Owning one of the earliest VIN numbers will do that! Very cool purchase! :cool:

Dan

Tom Davis
05-15-2007, 08:19 AM
Very cool boat! I love the 16s, but one of the guys you need to talk to is Robbie up at Lake Winni he owns a restoration and boat finishing company call Robbie's Restorations. He got a hold of a boat of the same vintage with the same set up. He can talk in great detail about his restoration.

Two things I do know is the drive is junk, impossible to find parts for and will shatter into irreplaceable little pieces if you put any real power to it, and you really need to split the boat to find out what your dealling with structurally.

I would put a Merc 4.3lx v6 motor/alpha drive package in it and have a ball.

Good luck, it's a great boat!

glashole
05-15-2007, 09:39 AM
if you do ever want to get rid of it drop me a line

otherwise have a great time