PDA

View Full Version : Magazine seeks classic Donzi restoration

Bill Prince
05-01-2007, 05:02 PM
Hello,
Many thanks to Scot VanAlstine for allowing me into your forum. I am the publisher of Classic Yacht magazine, available free online at www.classicyachtmag.com. I publish Classic Yacht as a labor of love "for those who love great boats". I'm a 33 year-old marine engineer by day. I have been involved in the design of some Donzi hulls from the late 1990s during the years I worked for racing boat designer Michael Peters in Sarasota, Florida.
I launched Classic Yacht magazine as a way to highlight great older boats that don't get a lot of press in the paper magazines anymore, geared as they are toward snagging ad revenue from new boat builders who want their present-day product highlighted. A good example of this is the story in the Spring issue about the 23rd fiberglass boat Chris Craft ever built, a 38' Commander that has enjoyed a complete restoration in Australia.
We're an online magazine, not a forum, so we present stories like a traditional print magazine. Subscriptions are completely free. I invite you to subscribe. I hope you'll find Classic Yacht enjoyable and informative.
I am looking forward to finding somone who has undertaken an imprssive restoration of an older Donzi. I've not assumed I can jump into your forum without first introducing myself, but I hope I'll be welcome to participate.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Cheers,
Bill Prince
Publisher
Classic Yacht magazine
publisher@classicyachtmag.com
www.classicyachtmag.com

Dr. Dan
05-01-2007, 08:45 PM
:bonk: Not to take away from any of the suggestions that Poodle listed, but Jamie Roots, aka. Rootsy is currently in the middle of the "Red Mistress" resto on a Classic 18, its very involved, and myticulously detailed. Do a search under Performance Talk...it should pop up.

Welcome to the Registry.

Doc of the Bay :wink:

Morgan's Cloud
05-02-2007, 07:00 AM