PDA

View Full Version : Big motor upgrade question.

wrasse
04-20-2007, 06:21 PM
Hello. I have a 91 Z24 (basically a black widow) that currently has a 330hp 454 with king cobra outdrive (hump/cone clutch). I'm running around 55MPH right now with 21 pitch prop. I'm looking at upgrade to 509 roller motor that makes almost 600hp at 5000 rpm. It comes nearly complete with intake manifold/carbs/distributor.

I know it's a huge power bump and I have some concerns....

1. Would my transom hold up?
2. Can my hull take it?
3. What prop should I use and what speed can I expect?
4. Boat seems solid but I'm no expert and it's not had a recent survey, how important is a hull inspection by a surveyor prior to undergoing an upgrade like this?
5. It seems king cobra is a pretty stout drive, any weak points I should be aware of?
6. I currently have a 1/2 closed cooling system (cools blocks). Would my current closed clooing system be adequate for the 509?
7. It seems 509 is not used much as 502. Why is that?
8. Would using a differnt iginition besides my stock spitfire be ok? I know king cobra has some interrupter that lowers rpm to facillitate shifting. I wonder if I would need something that would replicate that...
9. Will my huge power give me a heart attack?

Sorry for my laundry list of questions!

MOP
04-20-2007, 07:20 PM
You need to know what you can handle before jumping into a very expensive pool! Figured I would hit the last question first!

Transom should be carefully inspected as should the stringers, with that much HP they should be beefed up.

2. Can my hull take it?
That depends a lot on how you drive it.

Trial & error can be expensive.

4. Boat seems solid but I'm no expert and it's not had a recent survey, how important is a hull inspection by a surveyor prior to undergoing an upgrade like this?
I would get hold of a good glass guy to advise you on what may be needed.

5. It seems king cobra is a pretty stout drive, any weak points I should be aware of?