PDA

View Full Version : NOOB - picked up free GT210 Cuddy

Hubjeep
01-07-2007, 05:32 PM
Howdy all,
total noob to Donzi's here. Current boat is a 1969 13' Whaler and past boat was a 18' Yamaha jet boat (didn't like that one).

So, a friend in CT linked me over to craigslist "free" section ad with a 21' Donzi on the island (Long Island). I go to look at it, and it is in better shape than expected. It was "her" ex-husbands, he last used it in 2005 when the engine "blew", since then it sat uncovered.

The hull seems to be in nice shape, the floor is a little mushy in spots. As far as I know this is plywood, how difficult is it to lay some new wood in? :confused: I found this thread, though info on base wood thickness and fastening method would be helpful: http://www.donzi.net/forums/showthread.php?t=25420

From what I gather the engine (OMC Cobra drive with V6) is basically a Chev. 4.3L, and a automotive block could replace it (I know, auto and marine are not the same output specs).

I see in the Model Listing page that this boat was only made for one year, as is a few other models, why would a company bother making one for only a year? :confused:

The cuddy cabin is in nice shape, with the exception of the head liner falling down. Please let me know what you think. :yes: Especially in respect to the engine and floor.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v222/Hubjeep/Donzi/PICT0004-1.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v222/Hubjeep/Donzi/PICT0003-1.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v222/Hubjeep/Donzi/PICT0008.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v222/Hubjeep/Donzi/PICT0001.jpg

And it came with a free noodle!!!!!!! :jestera:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v222/Hubjeep/Donzi/PICT0003.jpg

Thanks!
-John :cool:

Formula Jr
01-09-2007, 06:04 AM