PDA

View Full Version : Looking to get into a Donzi....

FFR428
12-29-2006, 04:53 PM
I've been looking at 60's vintage Donzi's in the 16-18 ft range. And as a total noob to these boats what should I look for in a Donzi? I'm no stranger to engines and rebuilding and mostly a Ford guy at heart. And I've been around boats most of my life. But I might go see a 67 18' 2+3 with a Chevy 454 that's in NY. I also see a few nice boats in the classifieds here but they are a little farther away as I live in CT. But they aure are nice! In the meantime I'll be researching these boats and the differences. But if anyone can chime in with a few pointers I'd sure appreciate it. Like problem area's in the hulls if any, stress cracks, prefered hulls, engines and outdrives to look for etc...just general things to look for in these boats. Please forgive my ignorance :bonk: I'm just looking for a little guidance. :boat: Nice site you guys have here.

Thanks,

Glenn.

Tony
12-29-2006, 09:28 PM
Welcome to the board. The condition of a 60's Donzi will totally depend on its history. My '67 Ski Sporter was a fresh water, trailered/garaged boat that still has the original interior! To me that is a sign of excellent care over the last 40 years. Also, it has the deck that used a pvc tubing & glass layup...no balsa coring to rot or weaken. Of course, always check whether the tank has been replaced or not.

If you haven't already, use the search feature of this board...you can spend many hours getting a feel for all that you need to know aout the older classics. Most will say it is wiser to spend $ on an already restored boat, as opposed to doing it yourself. Others, though, will argue that it is a labor of love...regardless of the cost!

:beer:

FlatRacer, aka BarrelBack
12-29-2006, 09:32 PM
Hi, Glenn, and welcome to the board.