PDA

View Full Version : I just bought 88 Donzi, have questions?

page454
11-03-2006, 09:34 AM
I just bought an 88 Donzi off of ebay and picked it up yesturday. I bought it with a seized up 5.7L engine. My first question is, is there anything different between this engine and a chevy 350 in a vehicle. I'm new to boats but I am a certified mechanic with a lot of history of small and big block chevy's. Is there anything I need to know before I swap the engines. I have a 300hp 355 engine that is fresh and was going to go in a race car but I opted for a 383. Also my other question is where can I get more information on these donzi boats online, besides this website? The link to my boat if anyone is interested is http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=014&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&viewitem=&item=330036393744&rd=1,1

MOP
11-03-2006, 11:27 AM
Yes!
Pistons should be Hypernetic or equivilant
Bearings
Good idea to have atleast S/S exhaust valves
Brass core/freeze plugs
Circ pump has S/S guts and back plate
Carb, starter, altenator and fuel pump are marine.

The are put together with stronger parts to withstand the constant load that an auto does not have to put up with.

Phil

MOP
11-03-2006, 11:31 AM
Qoute: The link to my boat if anyone is interested is http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...6393744&rd=1,1

http://www.donzi.net/dlist/ Scroll down to Ragazza they were 17 to 25 feet, we have several members with them.

Phil

Carl C
11-03-2006, 11:46 AM