PDA

View Full Version : Restoration Questions...

Tall Cotton
09-01-2006, 10:20 AM
New guy. First post. Apologies if this is a dead horse. (I did search!)
Florida boy here now residing in Texas and been around boats all my life. First boat was a MasterCraft stars and stripes and I now own a Sanger. Always wanted a Donzi so here goes...

I'm interested in an older Donzi with some restoration needs. I think I've narrowed it down to an 18' 2+3 classic. Late 60's to early 80's depending on condition. I plan on doing as much of the work that I can. Some stuff I just don't have the expertize/equipment for. I'm not looking for a back to original restoration. More of an old look and new technology.

Engine/Outdrive Recommendations? I have a lot of good experience with 5.7L Mercruisers but little or no outdrive experience.
Any issues/nuances/problem areas to look for?
Expected final cost of a $2K - $4K start?
Not to interested in a 16' Something longer than an 18, maybe 20ish is a consideration. Same Classic style. Any recommendations?

Thanks, and I look forward to hear what everybody has to say.

Donzigo
09-01-2006, 10:35 AM
There are idiosycrosis with each model year.

Am I reading this right? You are interested in an older Donzi that needs restoration work and are willing to spend from 2K to 4K for the initial hull/boat?

mrfixxall
09-01-2006, 10:42 AM
New guy. First post. Apologies if this is a dead horse. (I did search!)
Florida boy here now residing in Texas and been around boats all my life. First boat was a MasterCraft stars and stripes and I now own a Sanger. Always wanted a Donzi so here goes...
I'm interested in an older Donzi with some restoration needs. I think I've narrowed it down to an 18' 2+3 classic. Late 60's to early 80's depending on condition. I plan on doing as much of the work that I can. Some stuff I just don't have the expertize/equipment for. I'm not looking for a back to original restoration. More of an old look and new technology.