PDA

View Full Version : GT 21 with 7.4 & Bravo One

wighthorsepower
08-14-2006, 04:57 PM
Hello from over the pond in :england: I would greatly appreciate some advice on what to look out for. I am in final negotiations over a GT 21 in the UK. I believe the current Mercruiser 7.4 with a Bravo One outdrive has been put in during the last 10 years (? - I havn't managed to crack the year from the serial number yet) However it has been stored dry and everything about the engine looks unworn and unused. I am not sure what horsepower the engine is or what she is likely to get up to with a tail wind. Being a complete novice and new to Donzi's has anyone got any pointers? I havn't managed to find the serial number of the hull yet but I know her year of manufacture was 1975. Any help would be great. Cheers - Wighthorsepower

Digger
08-14-2006, 05:07 PM
welcome to the board! And welcome to the Donzi addiction...

There are plenty of motorheads here more experienced than I to give you pointers, but I would suggest

-pull manifolds to look for extent of corrosion, particularly if there is any rust evident anywhere at the base of the manifolds
-pull the oil filler cap off and look in the underside of the cap. Condensation? milky residue? may have been sitting a long time/possible corrosion concerns
-how does the engine oil look? clean? milky?
-compression check of motor
-how does the drive lube look? clean? or not?
-pressure check on drive
-sea trial it and take it through the ringer

good luck and enjoy!

wighthorsepower
08-14-2006, 06:14 PM
Thank you very much Digger. Sounds like very good advice and also for the welcome. I first made an offer 14 months ago. Its been a long road and I only was able to twig that she was a Donzi 2 months ago. Luckily Classic Donzi's are not that common here or I may have had some competition.