PDA

View Full Version : SBC head torque sequence

Cuda
07-15-2006, 07:35 AM
I have a diagram with the steps for torqueing the heads on my other computer, which has taken a dump on me. The puter is in the shop. Can someone post the sequence, and the steps for the ft/pnds?

Thanks

Cuda
07-15-2006, 08:59 AM
I found it. If anyone else needs it, here it is.

Carl C
07-15-2006, 09:39 PM
You don't need a torque sequence. Always start at the center most bolt and tighten them in an outer spiral pattern in at least 3 steps. Clean the bolt threads on a wire wheel and blow out the holes with compressed air and put a little light oil on the bolts or RTV on ones that go into an open water jacket. I was a heavy repair auto mechanic for over 20 years.

MOP
07-15-2006, 10:36 PM
i greatly disagree and if you wish, we can go in depth with this if you like :)
JR

Ditto big time!

Cuda
07-15-2006, 10:59 PM
I'm sure that GM put plenty of research on the best way to torque down heads. I've done plenty on different engines over my life, and I always follow the manufactorer's reccomendation on torque sequence. I've never had one fail due not being torqued right. I had several fail on a Toyota pickup I had, until I finally took the head to a machine shop, and take the warp out of the aluminum head. :)

Carl C
07-16-2006, 06:34 AM
i greatly disagree and if you wish, we can go in depth with this if you like :)
JR Rootsy, only if we keep it friendly! I would like to know what you disagree about? Remember that I'm not talking about torque to yield engines. That's a whole nother animal where the bolts actually stretch and can not be re-used.:) Also I have done hundreds of heads on all sorts of engines this way. (but not the torque to yield ones) I speak from experience!:)

Cuda
07-16-2006, 09:22 AM
Jamie, do you think it's necesarry to change the head bolts everytime you pull a head?

Cuda
07-16-2006, 12:35 PM