PDA

View Full Version : Boats SUK: Let's Talk:

DonziJon
07-10-2006, 07:04 PM
LAWNMOWERS: I've been riding a TORO 8-32 "Riding Mower" for 20 years. Same one. Today I just finished replacing the "Idler" pulley under the deck which drives the transmission. Havn't tried it after the repairs yet but I'm sure it will be fine ,,,until the next thing goes Kaput. I'm getting tired. The only thing that hasn't required any work has been the engine (8 HP Briggs & Stratton), and the transmission. I've always tried to change the oil every 2 or 3 years. :) It only takes a quart.

SO: I'm looking at a Husqvarna 18 HP tractor..automatic transmission..42" cut, drink holders, yada yada. $1200....Briggs & Stratton. A lot of machines look "just the same"..almost identical.. with prices up to $1600. for a John Deere. I think a lot of these machines are THE SAME MACHINE with different names. What do you guys think?

PS: I'm getting older, so this is going to be my last mower. John

gold-n-rod
07-10-2006, 07:21 PM
Most of the crap sold today is made by the same manufacturer, regardless of name.

Do yourself a favor, look for a Toro/Wheelhorse dealer and buy a "Classic" model. Iron frames and axles, Kohler motors. A real Wheelhorse. This will indeed be your last mower.

They are a bit spendy, but you get what you pay for.

http://www.toro.com/home/tractors/classic300/3158.html

RedDog
07-10-2006, 07:23 PM
Last Fall I bought an ancient Snapper rear-engine / 12.5 horse B&S. This thing is so old it must be a sibling of Methuselah. I had to give $225 for her and it's going to be my last mower. I have had to throw a little money at it since but its close enough to the new models that I think I will make her run forever.