PDA

View Full Version : Contemplating Used 2005 22 Aronow Classic Purchase

Douglas Dorsi
06-17-2006, 09:07 AM
Thanks to all who provided feedback on the handling, courteous warnings, and seat time required to understand how to run this 22 that I am contemplating the purchase of. I am sorry I did not get a chance to personnally thank all that provided feedback prior to my seatrial . As I stated I am new to the performance boat arena.

I had the boat inspected and sea trialed by a marine surveyer. The boat passed the inspection with flying colors except the overheat alarm went of at a temp of around 190 so it was not able to be tested at full speed. I was able to go out on her and reach about 40 mph to at least get some feel of the boat. There was no porpoising with engine down and I felt I was able to maintain good control of any list tendancy or bow elevation with the tabs.

The inspecter said it probably needs a pump impeller but also it appears that since the boat is only one year old it has not had the annual maintenance which I am told normally should include impeller replacement. This is going to done, and I will be going to sea trial it after the work before deciding to buy or not. I understand this engine (496 HO / 425 hp) has many protective features and as such is difficult to damage.

Any feedback on normal maintenance intervals or experience with this engine concerning the overheating, reliability, best lubricants to use ect. would be appreciated. I am able to get a 4 year power train warranty for 2500 as well with this boat.

olredalert
06-17-2006, 09:29 AM
-------Not that the warrantee isnt on the up-and-up but check and re-check the fine print and ask a few knowledgeable disinterested parties what they think. Its my opinion that a bunch of these warrantee programs are purely a way of seperating you from your money.........Bill S

Douglas Dorsi
06-17-2006, 09:41 AM