PDA

View Full Version : Do I need a shorty?

The Hedgehog
05-30-2006, 05:32 PM
I have a 27ZX non-step with a Procharged 502 MPI running at 5lbs. I had the opportunity to check out my drive while running at 65mph. We had 3 on board and about 1/3 tank of fuel. My cavitation plate was buried!

I am no expert on X-dimension etc but it sounds like I am getting a bunch of drag. Has anyone run one of these on a 27ZX non-step? My shaft depth is currently around 8" below the V.

Last Real Texan
05-31-2006, 02:58 PM
Tough question...................The jury is still out on my twin step on this matter. The shorty seemed to help a bunch with a box stock prop but labbed it was too much slip. I as you know have installed a 1 inch spacer that has helped with the labbed prop I have, but it is still not as fast as with a stock prop and no spacer .......go figure. I am thinking about going to a 5 balded prop with no spacer and testing the results..............of course the easiest way to gain speed for me now is mo power but I am still in the justification phase of that Vortec hair dryer.

I still know this does not answer your question but I think at the least bring it up an inch. We still need to put the shorty on you boat and give it a try. I am suprised no one has chimed in on this thread yet.

Bryan

mrfixxall
05-31-2006, 03:17 PM
I have a 27ZX non-step with a Procharged 502 MPI running at 5lbs. I had the opportunity to check out my drive while running at 65mph. We had 3 on board and about 1/3 tank of fuel. My cavitation plate was buried!
I am no expert on X-dimension etc but it sounds like I am getting a bunch of drag. Has anyone run one of these on a 27ZX non-step? My shaft depth is currently around 8" below the V.

Are you running a 3 blade or a four blade prop?

The Hedgehog
05-31-2006, 06:06 PM
4 blade Lab-finished Bravo I with some extra cup. I got my prop from Throttle-up.

blackhawk
05-31-2006, 06:33 PM