PDA

View Full Version : First Ride on Sportster

chappy
05-04-2006, 12:53 PM
I bought a 2006 Harley-Davidson Sportster Roadster in January. I've said in past posts that I would never ride again due to an accident hitting a deer years ago. I've reconsidered. I went out this morning, and regained the feeling to move across the open road. What a feeling of freedom. I now understand what other members can appreciate about enjoying the open road and landscape on a bike. I hope everyone has a great day.
Rich Chapman:moped:

86fxst
05-04-2006, 01:03 PM
Your hooked! (AGAIN). I've been riding for 42 years. I'm on my second HD which I bought new twenty years ago!:D

mrfixxall
05-04-2006, 01:15 PM
I too was out yesterday and it felt good,,,,now if only the crap in the water would clear up and float down river ide feel even better riding to my place and hopping in the ole donzi...

chappy
05-04-2006, 01:27 PM
Me too, my lake is so high that trees and logs are floating all over. The lake I live on is used for hydroelectric power that is sold to other states. That 1/2inch of wood on the surface could be a 2 foot log under the surface that can rip the drive off the Donzi. A 3k bump I don't want to hit. Hoping for windy nights.
Rich:shocking:

Formula Jr
05-04-2006, 03:25 PM
I've been riding bikes for 37 years now. It is hard to get back to that sense of faith and peace after a bad accident. Riding a bike assumes a great deal about what is ahead. It makes us better riders in the end. As a young'en I know I was riding blind most of the time and entirely on faith. Now, I think more about what I'm doing and know the line between relatively safe fun and recklessness.

I have MORE fun now on a bike. Its not about speed or pushing the line. Motorcycles involve you with the road you are on. A perfect day, is the perfect ride. The shifts were all perfect, the bike sang, you never corrected on a curve, you found the perfect pace of the road and finding that fit, established the speed.