PDA

View Full Version : Starting Problem

LSUTIGERS74
03-29-2006, 01:14 PM
Just lately I have had a problem with starting my port engine, when I turn the key it does absolutely nothing as far as turning over the engine. All my gauges light up so I know everything is getting juice. I am new to this boat and have been tracing wires throughout to find a short in the ignition harness, but to no avail haven't found anything. Could this be a bad starter, on cars when the starter is bad it just clicks, but I am not even getting a click. This is 1990 30' Black Widow w/ 460 engines, none of the breakers are popped out on the engine riser, so none of the fuses have been blown there. Are there any other fuse boxes or breakers located on this boat?? I am still learning so bare with me.

RedDog
03-29-2006, 01:29 PM
Could be a bad ignition (key) switch - common problem and cheap to replace.

joel3078
03-29-2006, 01:58 PM
Think of yourself as lucky in troubleshooting world. You have one that works and one that doesn't. When you only have 1 engine, you don't have a good system/engine to copy and help out with troubleshooting reasoning/testing.

Remember the following:
It's easier to trace a good signal/voltage present vs. no signal/no voltage. Keep using your voltmeter/test light and work from the area were you have 12vdc preesent, to the area were you have no power/12vdc. I'd start at the starter relay myself. See if it powers up when you turn the key. If not, go to the very beginning, and check the key switch and then work your way back to the starter relay, starter itself, etc.

You have 2 engines, copy everything from the good one to the the bad one...... Take a test reading on the good one, and take the exact same reading on the bad one.

The whole idea here is to find out were the break in 12vdc power is on the bad one - thus hopefully finding the culprit to why the 2nd motor wont turn over.

mrfixxall
03-29-2006, 02:16 PM