PDA

View Full Version : Rookie Compression Question

sanleonkid
02-27-2006, 03:08 PM
I'm an accountant so forgive my engine naiveté. I am in the hunt for another boat and when I sold my 16 Classic the buyer did a comp check and "thought" that there was an issue with one of the cylinders. I just asked the maint guy if it would affect the performance and he said not really so we stayed pat on the price.

I did not ask at the time what type of "numbers" you should expect? Is it a numeric value or a percentage? If I have a comp test performed on a engine(s) at what level/value can i start negotiating down with the price and at what point should I look for another boat?

Thanks.

onesubdrvr
02-27-2006, 03:16 PM
I'm sure I'll be corrected here, BUT

CR is the X of times smaller the engine makes the air, for example, on a 9:1 compression ration engine, you should see (9*14.7) or approx 130 psi. or a little less on a stock engine, say 120 or so.

Anything less than 100 I'd say problem, or if a cylinder bleeds down pressure too quickly (drop down test).

I'd like to see all of them at +/- 2-3psi.

Ok, criticize away y'all

Wayne

sanleonkid
02-27-2006, 03:31 PM
ok, call me slooowww. the 14.7 factor comes from "where"?

mikev
02-27-2006, 03:43 PM
ok, call me slooowww. the 14.7 factor comes from "where"?
thats about the psi at sea level of the atmosphere so maybe thats where it comes from just guessing though

Carl C
02-27-2006, 03:46 PM
Camshaft profile and cranking speed will affect the reading. Anything over 100 PSI should be OK. Perhaps more important is that all cylds. be within 10% of each other. If possible check with engine warm, all plugs out and throttle open.

sanleonkid
02-27-2006, 03:47 PM
OK thanks..... now I have something to work with.

MOP
02-28-2006, 05:39 AM