PDA

View Full Version : Transmission Help!!!!!!

Scott Heidt
02-07-2006, 09:02 AM
Hey guys,

I need help!

1981 Hornet II 20'
New 502 Approx 500 HP
TRS Drive and Transmission

My TRS transmission is toast don't think rebuilding it is an option, but I am not a mechanic. My mechanic is sending me photos of the transmission. I will post. Plus with the new engine and additional horsepower a rebuilt TRS transmission probably would not fit the bill. I need options and resources please.

I was thinking that a BorgWarner 71 or 72 might work. I have no idea where to get one or even if I am on the train of thought. I guess another option would be to glass the transom and get a new drive that doesn't require a transmission.

Your help would be greatly appreciated! :)

Scott

mrfixxall
02-07-2006, 10:26 AM
I have one forsale,,,its a velvit drive..will fit fyour application and its rated for 750 hp...topdog bronze clutches motified pump and the pick up tube was relocated to the back of the trans so the oil dont suck air whyle flying and pounding the waves......750.00 plus shipping

Scott Heidt
02-07-2006, 10:59 AM
What is the gear ratio and model number? How many hours on it? Original or rebuilt? Please send any pictures to Gatorone30@hotmail.com. I went on the Velvet Drive Site and will read up on them. I need a bit of time to educate myself on transmissions.

BUIZILLA
02-07-2006, 12:17 PM
you have to relocate your front engine mounts, get another oil cooler, and oil lines, change the shifter cable and bracket to change to a BW from a MercTrans... I used TNT to do mine and Cuda had a guy in Deland do his, i'd get your original tranny done right, and use it.

JH

Cuda
02-07-2006, 07:11 PM
There are quite a few things that you have to change to go to a BW. I take it your's is a Merc II tranny. There are a couple things they do to beef them up in a rebuild. Additional clutch plate, and clearancing the output shaft or something.

ChromeGorilla
02-07-2006, 09:53 PM