PDA

View Full Version : Trailer bunk question.

Carl C
01-20-2006, 08:46 PM
This doesn't look right. The bunks hang off over a foot and the last 7" of boat aren't supported. Will this eventually cause a hook? Sorry about the crappy pic but you get the idea. It's a 22C. the trailer is nice otherwise - dual axles, alum. wheels, surge brakes (Loadmaster).:confused:

ChromeGorilla
01-20-2006, 08:54 PM
I have a Loadmaster as well and it looks like we have a similar situation.....

ChromeGorilla
01-20-2006, 08:57 PM
MP....I know that I did not have have enough room to move the winch post forward.... it was as far as it would go.

Carl C
01-20-2006, 09:11 PM
My trailer is the same as ChromeGorilla's. I cannot move the boat forward and the tongue weight is good now. I may be able to move the bunks back or make new longer ones out of lam beams. That gets us back to the question of will this cause a hook?

Sam
01-20-2006, 09:24 PM
I don't think there is enough exposed bottom surface vs. weight that might cause a hook. Look at the way boats are blocked or are held in slings. Unless you have a crapy boat to begin which you don't I wouldn't lose any sleep over it.

Having said that it would drive me crazy just to look at it :mad: . If it was me, I would spend a few bucks and add longer bunk boards......just my 2 cents.

Carl C
01-20-2006, 09:27 PM
Longer bunks would be expensive and a lot of work if not needed!

MOP
01-20-2006, 10:17 PM
I am happy with the way the Wesco came all set up and perfect (Thanks Tom), the bunks are cut to the same degree as the bottom and set way out near the chine. It lets the boat sit nice and low about 1-1/2" above the torsion axles, also I have never liked a boat sitting on its strakes. I did pull it forward 1-1/4" to expose the ends of the bunks and use heavy S/S bails through bolted as my tie downs.

Phil

Dr. Dan
01-21-2006, 07:00 AM