PDA

View Full Version : Some advice and questions on Selling 1993 18' Classic w/ Trailer

danielv
12-17-2005, 05:16 PM
Okay, for starters, I'm a newbie and am unsure if I've posted this in the proper section. I definitely didn't want to place it in the classifieds section and get flamed for being a "feeler ad" without a price. I'm just seeking infomation at this point due to my limited knowledge on these boats.

My neighbor has been storing his 18' Classic Donzi in my shop for a number of months, since moving out of the state. He just called me and asked me to sell it for him and I have no knowledge of these boats.

I believe he is the original owner and it is white with a tiel blue stripe. We are located in the Seattle Area and lived next door to him on a fresh water lake that is ony available for recreational use 4 months of the year. I doubt the boat has accumulated more than 10 hours per year he's owned it. The boat is all original and in perfect shape--he spent over $3K having everything serviced, including going through the drive unit, and winterizing just before dropping it off at my house.

I'm trying get a feel for the best venue to sell this boat, ebay, boat trader, the classifieds on this forum, etc. I am wondering if our local market would be strong for this type of boat. I'm also wondering whether these boats came with hour meters. I pulled the covers off and looked at the dash and was surprised that it appears no hour meter exists.

The boat has the 350? engine I believe and runs perfectly. I went for a ride in it shortly before he pulled it out of the water and remember how amazing it ran--doing something like 65 MPH on what we woud consider very rough water.

Lastly, I'm unsure what options or other things I need to determine about the boat to sell it and where to price it.