PDA

View Full Version : I Got It! I Got It! I Got It!

FlatRacer, aka BarrelBack
11-14-2005, 08:29 PM
After years of hounding the previous owner to sell me his boat, it is sitting in my Dad's driveway!
The boat I've been lusting after for years now, a 1968 18' 2+3 Barrelback V-Drive is finally mine!
It was originally owned and used on Lake George by a member of the Freihofer family, of Freihofer Bakery fame. The colors; white sides & bottom, yellow deck w/ white stripe and seats, reminded him of the Honey Buns made by his family's bakery, so he named the boat "Honey Bun".
The previous owner worked at a Donzi dealership where it was traded in. He had it on Lake Bomoseen in VT where I saw him, flagged him down and bummed a ride (my first in a Donzi).
Years later, when I joined this forum and decided I wanted a Donzi, I asked him if he'd sell me the boat, but he was reluctant to part with it. He took my number anyway and promised me a call if and when he was ready to sell.
A couple years ago I got tired of waiting and bought a '67 Barrelback from Michigan.
Every once in awhile I'd call him just to see if he'd changed his mind, but he was still on the fence about selling.
About a month ago, Dad called to say "guess who's put a For Sale sign on his boat". I called the owner again. He apologized for losing my number, then told me he had another buyer that was coming to look at it Sunday, but if that fell through he'd call me. Well, he called late last week to tell me that the other buyer was in the same "boat" I was in, in that he had to sell his current boat to raise the cash for Honey Bun. So, it was a race to see who could sell their boat first! I then, of course, told the tale to Dad who called me back the next day and offered to buy Honey Bun saying I could pay him back when I sold the '67. Superdad to the rescue! Thanks, Dad!
I'm so psyched! This makes up for the summer being over!

Eric

Now I just have one too many Barrelback 18s.

RedDog
11-14-2005, 08:56 PM