PDA

View Full Version : Tow truck transmission question...

gcarter
11-04-2005, 12:06 PM
Yesterday I visited the only reputable transmission shop in Leesburg and asked about the best mediom size SUV tow vehicle from a transmission perspective, i.e., towing in overdrive.
He told me both Ford (Expidition) and Chevy (Tahoe) have a weakness in this area (since neither one is rated for 3/4 ton).
Except...some Expiditions with 5.4 engines and 4R100 (otherwise known as E400) transmissions.
Does anyone here have any input on this subject?

BUIZILLA
11-04-2005, 12:38 PM
I have zero experience with Expeditions..... although my '97 V8 Explorer did a damn good job.... I have some E4OD mileage.... and tons of Powerstroke/auto mileage...

I have literally hundreds of thousands of miles logged with GM 4L60, 4L60E, 4L80, 4L80E, T350, T375, T400 over the past 35 years... the ONLY tranny's I lost in over 120 vehicles I've owned so far in 35 years, was (1) in a 1983 V6 Jimmy POS (towing an 18' Wellcraft OF at 70 mph in OD) and an 1990 7.3 E4OD (due to a faulty factory TPS setting) I have had both 5 and 6 speed Allison's behind Dmax's..

Other than the Jimmy smokeout (literally, left it at a dealer in Deland for TLC under warranty) I always use overdrive to tow. It can be done with responsible thinking. I have been almost 26,000 GVW in my SD Ford's with ZERO issues. My '93 454/4L80 Suburban had a Whipple.. and that thing was an animal pulling in OD up to 17000 GVW for 85,000 miles. My 1997 and 2001 Tahoe's were 4L60E, and I always used overdrive... my 2004 GMC 1500 was a 4L60E, and I towed my 252 Formula at 70-72 all day long in OD. I had a 1994 and 1996 SS Impala, towed with both in OD. I also currently have another 2004 F250 5.4 auto that tows yet another 302 Scarab in OD.

It's all in how you do it..... and what you do it with....

JH

Tim Morris
11-04-2005, 01:26 PM
I guess it depends on what you call mid size SUV.
I had a '92, followed by a '95 Explorer both were