PDA

View Full Version : wakeboard vs. ski: what's a 22 classic better for?

zimm17
09-04-2005, 02:48 PM
This is an odd question, but I'm very new at both skiing and wakeboarding. I'm ready to get a tow toy for my 22 classic. I can go either direction- but I'm wondering what's the classic better at pulling? I'd hate to get a wakeboard and find out I can't go slow enough for it, or get a nice waterski and finding the wake is too big. Any suggestions?

MOP
09-04-2005, 04:15 PM
This is an odd question, but I'm very new at both skiing and wakeboarding. I'm ready to get a tow toy for my 22 classic. I can go either direction- but I'm wondering what's the classic better at pulling? I'd hate to get a wakeboard and find out I can't go slow enough for it, or get a nice waterski and finding the wake is too big. Any suggestions?

My opion I would not run any I/O at the speed required for wake boarding, the greatest load on the drive assy is getting over the hump onto plane. Holding it at that speed to wake board puts just to much load on for to long a period.

Phil

RedDog
09-04-2005, 04:30 PM
I've pulled both but it really is crappy for both. If you drop your tabs all the way - no problem going slow enough for a wakeboard. The wake isn't very good for either.

Now for tubing, you can't beat the 22. You can get pretty evil ...

zimm17
09-04-2005, 08:28 PM
Cool, maybe a pair of tubes is what I need then. Any recommendations?

Marlin275
09-04-2005, 09:30 PM
My opion I would not run any I/O at the speed required for wake boarding, the greatest load on the drive assy is getting over the hump onto plane. Holding it at that speed to wake board puts just to much load on for to long a period.

Phil

Yeah, I've had my engine at that speed 2000 - 2200 RPMs
Engine starts to run hot and has a sick sound,
as soon as the boat starts to plane off they say it's too fast?
Worst speed for the boat, terrible gas mileage, huge wake.
Mastercraft makes a flat bottom boat that does that better!