PDA

View Full Version : Tach Accuracy??

boatnut
08-17-2005, 06:05 PM
:confused: In another thread I have been discussing the unexplained data concerning use of a Bravo 1 28P prop on my classic 22. In summary, the most logical explanation would be an inaccurate tach. The suggestions from others and the merc shop manual is to attach a "service tach" to check the accuracy. I don't have a service tach yet, but I checked the 4,6,8 cyl setting on the back of the tach (VDO) and moved that and the tach adj screw to ensure good contact -- In doing all of this I realized what a flimsy electrical instrument some of these tachs are. The way these boats bang around at times it is a wonder any of these tachs remain accurate. A 5% error is 250 rpm at 5000 (+-5% is 4750 to 5250), and from my experience (I was an instrument calibration tech many moons ago) that amount of error, or more, is within reason. We make lots of expensive prop decisions based on rpm readings, and make decisions that effect the longevity of our motors. The purpose of all of this babbling is to make a suggestion to the marine motor companies (in case we have any Mercruiser people on the registry). It would be relatively cost free (if done in the original design) to have a test mode in the engines control module circuitry whereby a test signal could be sent out on the tach wire that simulates a specific tach reading (e.g. 3000 rpm). One could then put the engine computer module in the test mode (engine not running) and pulses would be sent out on the tach wire and one could check the tach to see what it is reading and adjust the screw on the back if needed to get the correct reading. A built-in calibration. I would bet that many tachs are not reading correctly. The old mechanical tachs either worked or they didn't so accuracy was probably better on them. Just a thought. Ed

gcarter
08-17-2005, 06:34 PM