PDA

View Full Version : Spark plug temperature range?

Tony
08-11-2005, 11:10 PM
I'm running slightly rich, and thinking about switching to a hotter spark plug.
Currently using Champion RV15YC4, may switch to Champion RV17YC, which is two ranges hotter.

One guru friend has recommended this to me, while another guru friend says do not! I am conflicted...any thoughts?

txtaz
08-12-2005, 01:40 AM
I'm no pro here, but you could always lean it out. When I built my engine in another boat I was warned not to run too hot on the plug or I would burn a piston.
Wes

Rootsy
08-12-2005, 07:09 AM
you need to get someone who knows what they are looking at to really "read" those plugs... you can tell 3 or 4 things from a plug other than just rich or lean... the plug will tell you fuel mixture, ignition timing, heat range, etc etc...

takes a very good light and a loupe.

MOP
08-12-2005, 08:51 AM