PDA

View Full Version : Why is New Car buying so difficult?

Formula Jr
07-26-2005, 08:21 PM
Do they all just assume we all fell off a turnip truck?
First there is the "hard to get Sales person"
Then they morphed to " Gee, that car will be transfered to another dealer if you don't act now."
And now Its the, "we are being so nice to you that we have held this car over," BS.

I haven't even taken a test drive yet!

I feel like walking on the lot dressed as a Scottish Highlander, little purse and all, and ask if there is any one, "Man enough to sell me a car for a fair price."
Probably would be removed by security......... ;)

Cuda
07-26-2005, 08:41 PM
I didn't have any problem. I told the guy what I wanted, and he came back with a price $2000 less than I thought it was worth. It was his coming out price, I told him "deal" and left with the new truck in less than an hour.

Dr. Dan
07-27-2005, 05:33 AM
:spongebob I always just tell them I am only beginning to look, I make sure what ever Car or Brand I am looking at... I tell them I am also considering some lofty competitive product. For example if I was looking at an Excursion I tell them I have looked at H2's and Denalis....then these guys back off. I also really do alot of Valuation Research before I go in and see any Salesman, this puts me at an advantage in terms of Market Knowledge of the Vehicle.

The Suburban I last purchased, was listed at $45,000 I ended up paying $37,500 for it...hell my 1997 4 Runner was $34 when it was new...so I thought I got a great Deal on the Burban.

When they ask me "What do we have to do to put you in this Car Today?" I have a pre-determined range of value, I tell them where they have to be, and it's not a random number...and if they are close to that range...we talk more...if not I keep shopping. I always get a call back after I leave...trick is walking away...