PDA

View Full Version : How fast can it go???

showtime
07-25-2005, 09:11 PM
I'm a new member as of today and will be a boat owner this weekend. I am buying a '90 Z33 460s/king cobra,stop snickering I was LOOKING for Ford power, and the current owner says he has only made it up to 52mph!! What does it take to go 60 or more? Is 70 out of the question w/supercharging? I am new to big boats but the props are 4 blade. What should I have for more speed? Is this a typical top end for the big Fords or is this thing sick or not set up right? I've heard mostly bad about the king cobras but it seems the people bad mouthing them have never had one! I was told by a local boat racer and fellow Ford fanatic that their upper limit is 500hp. Everything seems to be untouched, so what is a good starting point to improve performance? No I'm not going to install Chevy power. I've always hot rodded and raced Fords but I know boats are a different animal. Thanks!

mattyboy
07-26-2005, 05:56 PM
Showtime
all it takes is $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ how fast do you want to go ????
you'll find marine hi po parts for fords very scarce and hipo parts for OMC drives rare too, that's why chevies and merc's are the choice for big hp apps,
i would figure about 1000$ bucks a mph so figure 20 Large to get to upper 60's then you have to say is it worth it or just enjoy the boat for what it is a big comfortable stylish sport boat that will do mid 50's in all conditions

Cuda
07-26-2005, 07:09 PM
I think the 460's should get you to 60. It may just need a tuneup. What shape is the bottom in? Has it been bottom painted? :bawling:

showtime
07-26-2005, 10:04 PM
The bottom has been painted and looks to be in good shape. What is the effect of a 4 blade prop versus a 3 blade?
I think the 460's should get you to 60. It may just need a tuneup. What shape is the bottom in? Has it been bottom painted? :bawling:

Cuda
07-26-2005, 10:29 PM