PDA

View Full Version : Am I too poor to own a magnum?

superhatz
06-28-2005, 05:42 PM
I am thinking about boats again and I have come to the conclusion that I have to have a Donzi or a Magnum.

I have very specific tastes and I've narrowed it down to my 2 favorite all time boats....... a '70's vintage Donzi 18 2+3......or a '70's Magnum 27 sport.

I have the credit and or cash for either.....but I'm wondering if I can afford to own and operate a 27 sport......the single engine Donzi should be no problem......but?

I am a mechanic by trade so I should be able to do most of the labor myself......but are the parts and fuel for a twin engine Magnum going to "kill" me?

Sorry if this is a stupid question....

Thanks,
Aaron

mphatc
06-28-2005, 06:53 PM
A simple budget question . . .

How much boating will you do? How PERFECT or CONCOURS a vintage boat do you want?
An older Donzi is an easy maintenance, but they aren't cheap to rebuild either, and a twin powered Magnum as I see it would be twice the challenge.

Fuel isn't cheap anymore and it never will be again. I'd start my calculations on how much you're willing to spend w/e's or annually on fuel . .

I can say that it sucks big time to have a fancy toy that you can't afford to run. That's why I build BMW race cars and play with boats . .a $35K race car that costs $1000.00 a weekend to run would only sit in the garage 48 weekends of the year, while for the same money I can run my Donzi many more weekends. I have numerous customers with the race car that they can't afford to run . .. .

Mario

olredalert
06-28-2005, 07:06 PM
Well Aaron,