PDA

View Full Version : Prop Talk (maybe this should have its own section)

gold-n-rod
06-13-2005, 05:38 PM
How do two props of the same design (same make and model) and pitch behave differently when there is a 1" diameter difference between the two.

For example, a 13.25 x 21P versus a 14.25 x 21P? What performance differences would one expect to find?

Thanks in advance.

blackhawk
06-13-2005, 06:09 PM
A smaller diameter prop will work well on a smaller boat. It will accelerate harder and be turned easier with less hp. A larger diameter prop will carry a larger boat better and require more power to turn. On the same boat a smaller diameter prop will turn higher rpm. I am by no means an expert but I have learned a lot about props recently(the hard way!). :rolleyes:

Harbormaster, not a bad idea about having a prop section hah? :D

EricG
06-14-2005, 12:03 PM
As it was explained to me by a local prop guy, the pitch is a theoretical number based on how far the prop would travel through a solid in one revolution (most of us already knew that).

But, the diameter is just another attribute of the pitch value. In other words, a 25" mirage will have a different diameter than say a 25" Turbo due to different blade design, but a 25" Mirage can't have a different diameter than another 25" mirage, or one of them isn't a 25. If props have been worked on, well, then this obviously could cause the diameters to be different, but I maintain that the pitch rating would actually be different also.

BTW - my limited experience with prop testing has shown that Blackhawk's response is correct, I could spin a 21" stilletto a lot better than a Mirage+ 21" on my old Z. The stilletto was a much smaller diameter prop, but they both had the 21" rating.

I'm just saying that I don't believe you can buy multiple diameters of the same prop design and pitch... But, I'm sure someone will prove me wrong.