PDA

View Full Version : Porpoising - 22'Classic

slapshot11
06-07-2005, 09:01 PM
My 22' Classic seems to porpoise more than it should even on relatively calm waters. I run fully trimmed in whether I'm alone, with one other person or even 4 adults. I'm still new at this so it may just be a matter of seat time. Will tabs help or is it a prop issue? I'm running a Mirage Plus 25P on a Bravo 1 with a 502 EFI. It's particularily bad at 3,000 RPMs and gets better the faster I go. All gone at WOT. I searched various previous threads and suggested props seem to be the Turbo 1 22" or Hydroautomotive QIV. But which one is best for a 22?

Pismo
06-07-2005, 09:32 PM
I have the same setup, 502 Bravo I 25" Mirage Plus on a 22 Classic and I am always working against the porpoising. Tabs down some will stop it dead but then you get the "tabs down" feel, ie drag, drag, roll, etc. A touch of tab seems to be enough and doesn't give you the "feel". Trim fully down also stops it for me, which is negative on a Bravo. Up even a little and it starts to oscillate. I usually run under 3000rpm/40mph. Gone by 3500 and above. I wonder how the old 22s with TRS drives, where fully down trim is neutral, behaved? My boat at neutral/straight back trim will most definitely porpoise, I need negative to stop it. The engine forward a foot in the TRS setup may have helped. Full gas tank seems to make little/no difference. I hear the Turbo 1 25" is the answer, have not tried it. Until then, trim fully down and a touch of tab as last resort stops it, or more speed. The hull is built to go 65mph, not 30mph, and it does so beautifully.

Dr. Dan
06-07-2005, 10:33 PM
:bonk: FWIW..My King Cobra has never had a porposing problem, I started with wa 23 pitch Turbo 3 Blade. Ran it for 4 Seasons...never an issue. Upgraded to the 25 Pitch after the Repower...still fine, this year we will be dialing in a 27 Turbo. Ran it a little this past Sunday ...and no issues..