PDA

View Full Version : Career...

HollaGeo
05-24-2005, 02:17 PM
I was warned about the disposable income you need to be boater. Family, other internet people on other sites, etc. My question for those who feel comfortable to answer. What do you do for a living?

onesubdrvr
05-24-2005, 02:32 PM
By day, I'm a newspaper reporter,.....by night, I'm a SUPER-HERO!!!

Just Kidding,

I'm a glorified mechanic, I work on industrial machines, diesels, electric compressors, nitrogen generators / etc. I make a fair living. My wife is a branch manager for a bank, she also makes a fair living.

There is lots of stuff to keep in mind, example, my last weekend boating,...
Fuel $75.00, Sodas / snacks $20.00, SeaTow $450.00, lost cash $90.00,...anyway, that may not be normal, but plan on dropping $100.00 everytime you put your boat in the water ($ varies slightly with size of boat). Keep in mind insurance, and NORMAL maintenance. BOATING IS NOT A CHEAP HOBBY, IF YOU WANT A CHEAP HOBBY, DO CROSSTITCHING OR SOMETHING!!
Then, there is the addiction,...uh let's see, the boat I paid less than 4K for, I've put about $5.5k into, and there is more to come with the upcoming out drive repairs.

My opinion for a first time boat owner - buy an inexpensive boat (like my Ragazza for example), play with it, if you decide "hey this boating thing is even MORE expensive than I thought, it's killing me", sell the boat, take a small loss there, and be content riding in the boats of you family and friends. If you love it, but want more, then you make sure you keep up on your boat, shop, shop, shop, shop, shop, until you find "THE" boat, then go from there. Oh yeah, make sure your spouse / significant other is on board with you for the $$:banghead: , like I said, IT AIN'T CHEAP!

I'm in the shop, shop, shop, shop, trying to find "THE" boat phase right now!!

Just my thoughts,
Wayne

TuxedoPk
05-24-2005, 03:12 PM